Books – Nuremberg Academy Series

The Nuremberg Academy Series, a book publication series of the International Nuremberg Principles Academy, was launched in April 2017. The Series Editor is Dr. Viviane Dittrich. The Series is published by the Torkel Opsahl Academic EPublisher (TOAEP). The Academy and the Centre for International Law Research and Policy (CILRAP) co-operate on the promotion of high-quality open access publications in international law.

The Series includes work that is interdisciplinary and brings together academics and practitioners focused on practical and innovative applications of international criminal law. The Series seeks to cover relevant and topical areas that are under-researched or require renewed attention. Grounded in the legacy of the Nuremberg Principles – the foundation of contemporary international criminal law – it addresses persistent and pressing legal issues and explores the twenty-first century challenges encountered in combating impunity for core international crimes.

Suggestions for book proposals are welcome and manuscripts are currently being solicited for the Series. If you have a book proposal you think would fit with the Nuremberg Academy Series, see the submission guidelines here.

The e-book version of the Series can be downloaded directly below and the print version of the books can be ordered via the publisher’s website – TOAEP.



Nuremberg Academy Series

The Past, Present and Future of the International Criminal Court

  • Edited by: Alexander Heinze and Viviane E. Dittrich
  • Year: 2021

Integrity in International Justice

  • Edited by: Morten Bergsmo and Viviane E. Dittrich
  • Year: 2020

The Tokyo Tribunal: Perspectives on Law, History and Memory

  • Edited by: Viviane E. Dittrich, Kerstin von Lingen, Philipp Osten and Jolana Makraiová
  • Year: 2020

Islam and International Criminal Law and Justice

  • Edited by: Tallyn Gray
  • Year: 2018

Two Steps Forward, One Step Back: The Deterrent Effect of International Criminal Tribunals

  • Edited by: Jennifer Schense and Linda Carter
  • Year: 2017