Queen Mary University of London wins the Nuremberg Moot Court 2021


The Nuremberg Moot Court 2021 ended on 30 July after the brilliant participation of more than 190 students from 46 universities located in 30 countries. The International Nuremberg Principles Academy and the Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg congratulate all the teams for their hard work and effort.

Despite the exceptional and difficult circumstances created by the COVID-19 pandemic, the students demonstrated outstanding advocacy skills and successfully addressed the 2021 case that touched upon issues related to enslavement as a crime against humanity and amnesties.

Judges consisted of high-profile international and national judges, prosecutors, academics, and civil society actors. Judge Raul Pangalangan, former ICC Judge, presided during the Finals.

Click here to watch the Online Award Ceremony.

Click here to watch the Finals.

Click here for more information on the Nuremberg Moot Court.

For photos, visit our Facebook page.


Winners of the Nuremberg Moot Court 2021

1st Place - Queen Mary University of London – United Kingdom

Mr. Rojae Brown

Ms. Mara Ionita

Ms. Basanti Mardemootoo

2nd Place - Maastricht University – The Netherlands

Ms. Carmen Enciso

Ms. Moramay Koomen

Mr. Fehmi Levent Özkan

Ms. Anna Wischermann

First Best Speaker

Ms. Basanti Mardemootoo, Queen Mary, University of London

Second Best Speakers

Mr. Pedro Henrique Azevedo, Universidade Federal de Uberlândia

Ms. Martina Calcaterra, Università degli Studi di Milano

Mr. Daniel Mullin, BPP University

Ms. Julia Brito Ospina, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul

Mr. Fehmi Levent Özkan, Maastricht University

Ms. Mariia Petrova, National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy

Ms. Juliette van Ratingen, University of Sydney

Ms. Anna Wischermann, Maastricht University

Best Memorandum - Prosecution Award

The Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University – India

Mr. Agniva Chakrabarti

Mr. Abhinav Gupta

Mr. John Noble

Mr. Sushovan Patnaik

Mr. Enaksh Srivastava

The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences – India

Ms. Sowmya Mahalingam

Ms. Smriti R. Saroja

Ms. Yeseswini Shanmuga Sundaram

Mr. Sunand Subramaniam

Best Memorandum - Defense Award

Fudan University – China

Ms. Jiahui Ding

Ms. Shiyuan Li

Mr. Wanghao Wu

Ms. Zichun Xu

Mr. Erdong Zhao

Honourable mentions in alphabetical order

Universidade Federal de Uberlândia

Al-Azhar University (joint team)

Babes-Bolyai University

Birzeit University

BPP University

Cavendish University Uganda

Creighton University School of Law

Denning Law School-Pakistan

East China University of Political Science and Law

Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)

Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul

Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Galatasaray Üniversitesi

General Sir John Kotelawela Defence University

Goverment College University

Faisalabad Istanbul Center of International Law

Jagiellonian University

JSC KIMEP University

Koc University

Kutafin Moscow State Law University

Lloyd Law College, Greater Noida

Maastricht University

Makerere University Kampala-Uganda

Menoufia University

Modern International Study (MIS) Centre

Monash University

National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy

National University of Singapore

Pazmany Peter Catholic University

Queen Mary, University of London

Royal University of Law and Economics

School of Law, Bennett University

Singapore Management University

Strathmore University

Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv

The Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University

Udmurt State University - University of Nairobi - Southern Illinois University

Universidad de la República Oriental del Uruguay

Università degli Studi di Milano

Universitas Gadjah Mada

Université de Lille

University of Jordan

University of Oxford

University of Regensburg

University of Sydney

University of Warsaw