Maastricht University won the Nuremberg Moot Court 2022


The Nuremberg Moot Court 2022 ended on 15 July 2022, after the brilliant participation of 199 students from 45 universities located in 28 countries.

The International Nuremberg Principles Academy and Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg congratulate all the teams for their hard work and enthusiasm.

Despite the exceptional and difficult circumstances created by the virtual competition, as we still faced pandemic restrictions, students demonstrated outstanding advocacy skills and successfully addressed the 2022 case that focused on the crime of genocide.

Judges consisted of high-profile international and national judges, prosecutors, academics and civil society actors. Judge Ivana Hrdlicková, President of the Special Tribunal for Lebanon, presided the Finals.

Click here to watch the recorded video of the Finals.


Winners of the Nuremberg Moot Court 2022

1st Place Maastricht University – the Netherlands

  • Dylan Jesse Andrian
  • Ekaterina Fakirova
  • Fikri Fahmi Faruqi
  • Nicole Binder
  • Dr Craig Eggett (Coach)

2nd Place – Koç University – Turkey

  • Muhammed Asula
  • Büsra Altuntas
  • Özge Karsu
  • Semanur Avci
  • Swaleh Hemed Wengo
  • Asst. Prof. Kerem Gülay (Coach)

First Best Speaker

Dylan Jesse Andrian (Maastricht University)

    Second Best Speaker

    Özge Karsu (Koç University)

    Best Memorandum – Prosecution Award

    Fateh Law Agency – Iran

    • Sahar Khoshdel Damirchi Darasi Olya
    • Sadra Pirniakan
    • Nima Ilat
    • Mohammadreza Mahboubi
    • Ali Masoudian Varzaneh (Coach)

    Best Memorandum – Defense Award

    Jagiellonian University – Poland

    • Agnieszka Zajac
    • Michal Dusza
    • Katarzyna Koszyczarek
    • Urszula Furgal
    • Kinga Dudzik
    • Pawel Czarnecki (Coach)